The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award

AKC Medallion
In the American Kennel Club's ongoing efforts to recognize and celebrate its volunteer club members, The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was established in 2006 to provide each member club with an AKC Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis.
This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition that have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship, and have been an active and valued member of an AKC member club. Medallions are awarded solely at the club's discretion.


The Del Monte Kennel Club began awarding these medallions in 2009.

The following members have been recognized:

2009 Mary Jane Pruettr

2010 Suzi Bluford

2011 Penny Jones

2012 Merlyn Green

2013 Wendy Johnston

2014 Lori Serrano

2015 Arline Lovett<

2016 Cheryl Smith

2017 Maureen Feehan

2018 Henry Sutliff, III

2019 Susan Cohen

2020 Thomas Craig

2021 Doug Ahlstrand

2022 Pam Durkee